Functional units of the L. Sakvarelidze National Center for Disease Control & Public Health (NCDC) Regional Department are: Imereti and Adjara Divisions, Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti, Guria, Poti, Racha-Lechkhumi-Kvemo Svaneti, Shida Kartli, Kakheti, and Samtskhe-Javakheti Laboratory Support Stations (LSSs).

Each LSS includes a BSL-2 Regional Diagnostic Laboratory and a Tuberculosis Bacterioscopic Laboratory, as well as an epidemiology unit.

Primary functions of LSSs are: epidemiological surveillance and laboratory control of especially dangerous and other communicable diseases; and provision of laboratory services during investigation of disease cases, outbreaks, or other public health emergencies.

Routine work of LSSs include:

  • Surveillance and monitoring of especially dangerous and other communicable and non-communicable diseases in the region;
  • Operation of BSL-2 laboratories, performance of high quality and reliable laboratory tests, implementation of biosafety and biosecurity in order to protect laboratory personnel, the community, and the environment;
  • Efficient operation of logistics, biosafety, and quality management services at laboratories;
  • Collection of especially dangerous pathogen (EDP) samples for bacteriological and serological tests; preparation and transportation of samples to the higher level laboratories for further examination.
  • Diagnostics of Tuberculosis using bacterioscopic methods under the Tuberculosis Control State Program;
  • Provision of laboratory services (bacteriological and serological) for medical service providers;
  • Performance of sanitary-microbiological and serological studies for municipal programs and contractual cooperation with medical facilities to ensure safe work practices;
  • Implementation of the Electronic Integrated Disease Surveillance System (EIDSS).